Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-24-2018, 05:57 PM   #1

Metz M400 flash with MZ-S?

Hi,
I am new to the Pentax world coming over from Leica rangefinders. I have purchased the MZ-S which I am enjoying and will be getting the LX soon too and I am looking for a lightweight flash that will work across the board on all cameras and take advantage of HSS and P-TTL when I need them plus still do manual flash etc. The Metz looks perfect but of course there is no mention on their website anymore about its compatibility with film cameras.

From what I can see it should work perfectly with the MZ-S and taking advantage of the more niche modes but still working perfectly on the older cameras like the LX with standard TTL or just straight Auto and manual settings.

Just checking in case there is some weird digital only flash hotshoe that I wasn't aware of.

Thanks for your help.

Jason

05-24-2018, 07:10 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Pentax Forums!

Here is a quick summary:
  • The Metz M400 supports Pentax P-TTL and provides flash dedication on Pentax P-TTL bodies. It also supports manual flash and "auto" flash using its own on-board sensor.
  • Very few Pentax film cameras support P-TTL. Fortunately, the MZ-S is one of that exclusive club.
  • The MZ-S also supports regular TTL (no pre-flash) with a large number of flash models for both the first generation (analog) and second generation (digital) protocols.* See the MZ-S manual for details of which models do what.
  • The LX does NOT support P-TTL and would be limited to "auto" flash or manual mode with the M400. Fortunately the LX does support first generation (analog) TTL and also is compatible for that feature with a goodly number of Pentax flash.