Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
10-09-2018, 07:05 AM   #1

Best Flash for automotive photography

Hi all,

I'm starting to explore automotive flash photography. I have a vintage car repair shop at my disposal (thanx to my wife) so I have some pretty nice vintage sports cars (Maserati, Ferrari and the likes) that need to be shot before they leave the shop.
K1 and HD DFA 24-70 is the combo I'm using for this task.

Now, I'm a bit of a newbie for what goes on with flash photography. I'm getting into it with lots of tutorials and such but I need to get one to actually practice the thing before I get to the shoot.
I know regular studio flashes are used for this task but I'd like to start out simple and build it up gradually; also, I'd like to use it for regular event and portrait shooting, so I'd go with a speed light to be used off camera with trigger and receiver.

Any ideas on what to get?

10-09-2018, 07:24 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by gerax Quote
Hi all,

I'm starting to explore automotive flash photography. I have a vintage car repair shop at my disposal (thanx to my wife) so I have some pretty nice vintage sports cars (Maserati, Ferrari and the likes) that need to be shot before they leave the shop.
K1 and HD DFA 24-70 is the combo I'm using for this task.

Now, I'm a bit of a newbie for what goes on with flash photography. I'm getting into it with lots of tutorials and such but I need to get one to actually practice the thing before I get to the shoot.
I know regular studio flashes are used for this task but I'd like to start out simple and build it up gradually; also, I'd like to use it for regular event and portrait shooting, so I'd go with a speed light to be used off camera with trigger and receiver.

Any ideas on what to get?