Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 6 Likes Search this Thread
02-18-2019, 05:23 AM   #1
Pentaxian

K-70, Cactus and Metz flash combinations for real estate photography

Before buying new equipment, I need some advice please.

I’m not new to photography but I am relatively to digital (but I have caught up quickly). However, I am new to flash triggering solutions and the number of combinations out there. I’ve done my homework and a lot of reading and comparing. So before I go out and finally purchase items, I would much appreciate the opinion of one of you experts.

My scenario: I have a Pentax K-70 and a Metz 44 AF-2 flash and wish to shoot real estate photography. I wish to buy a second flash unit and have trigger operation of both, either with one on-camera, or both off-camera. I was thinking of buying another Metz, the 52 AF-1, together with the Cactus V6 II to control them, but I would also need 2 RX units – one for each flash. However, upon further investigation I now see that the Cactus RF-60X would be a better bet (over the 52 AF-1) as it has a built-in receiver (as well as a transmitter).

So, am I right in thinking the following are correct?

A) If I buy the RX-60X, I can use it as a transmitter (on-camera) in conjunction with the Metz 44 AF-2 (off-camera), but I would need to buy a Cactus V6 II in order to control and receive the signal. I understand that that the Metz 44 AF-2 can be configured to work with the Cactus V6 II using a Pentax profile or something.

B) If I want to use both flashes off-camera (the Metz 44 AF-2 and the Cactus RX-60X), I would need two V6 II units, one on-camera (to control both flashes), and the other off-camera in conjunction with the Metz 44 AF-2, as the RX-60X will act automatically as an RX receiver from the on-camera V6 II. Is there an alternative, cheaper option for this second RX for the Metz 44 AF-2?