Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-06-2019, 10:31 PM   #1

How is P-TTL supposed to work? How can I tell if it's working?

I just bought a Godox TT350 flash for my Pentax K-1. The instruction manual for the flash says that the TTL function should work with this camera. I have never used a flash before, but from what I've read is that when using TTL, the camera is supposed to look at the brightness of the scene with a test flash and then adjust the shutter speed when the actual photo is taken. However, when have my flash set to TTL mode, with the camera in aperture priority, the shutter speed is always 1/80, no matter how bright the scene is. Naturally, sometimes the scene is too dark and sometimes it is too bright.

04-07-2019, 12:58 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
No, what you've said's not right.

TTL will only change the flash power, never the shutter speed or ISO or aperture.

04-07-2019, 01:10 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by multivac Quote
I just bought a Godox TT350 flash for my Pentax K-1. The instruction manual for the flash says that the TTL function should work with this camera. I have never used a flash before, but from what I've read is that when using TTL, the camera is supposed to look at the brightness of the scene with a test flash and then adjust the shutter speed when the actual photo is taken. However, when have my flash set to TTL mode, with the camera in aperture priority, the shutter speed is always 1/80, no matter how bright the scene is. Naturally, sometimes the scene is too dark and sometimes it is too bright.