Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2019, 01:30 PM   #1

Best Flash option for Real Estate?

Greetings, I have a Pentax K3II and have recently found myself doing a few real estate/architectural photos through a friend's architectural design business. Currently I am just using HDR process to get a decent enough result, but I feel like if this is something I want to do more of, I will need to buy a flash system of some kind. Can someone recommend something to me? I have zero experience using any kind of flash, so something relatively easy to use, and preferably less than 200-300$... cheaper the better, as this is not my main occupation or creative pursuit, just something I'd like to do on the side. I dont really know if an on-body flash or a off camera system will be better suited, or what all I need to make it work.
If anyone can provide some information I would be very grateful!
Thank you!

12-10-2019, 02:19 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Hi. I shoot real estate in Europe. Look for Nathan Cool (it is his real last name) on YouTube. Should be great starting point for you. Lot of knowledge about mixing flash and ambient light for real estate photography. The basic setup with very tight budget for me would be yongnuo 660 manual flash (better two of them) and two youngnuo triggers, one to trigger the camera and the second one to trigger the flash. They should work for you. They are really cheap and they work. One portable lightstand would be great addition for larger spaces. But if you are planning to invest more in the future go for godox or flashpoint or any other system that has wide established system. Remember you don't need TTL or hss for this kind of work. Go for manual flashes.
12-10-2019, 02:30 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I've seen professional real estate agents that moved away from using any flash.