Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
06-12-2020, 12:00 PM   #1

Pentax K200D, Yongnuo YN585EX-PTTL Wireless Speedlight Flash ----remote trigger????

Complete novice here - so apologies if this is a really dumb question...

I've been watching
and reviewed the recommended equipment on his website. The set up looks sufficiently simple that I understand it...but, I am using a Pentax, and he is not. So now I'm trying to find the speedlight and trigger that will work with my PEntax K200D. I understand that the Yongnuo 585 is compatible....but what remote tigger works with this rig?

06-13-2020, 12:15 AM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Probably two Cactus V6 II's. One as trigger on the camera, one as receiver (that you put your Yongnuo YN585EX on).

Hopefully Class A can chime in as he is a Cactus expert.
06-14-2020, 07:35 AM   #3

QuoteOriginally posted by JoYou Quote
Complete novice here - so apologies if this is a really dumb question...

I've been watching this video and reviewed the recommended equipment on his website. The set up looks sufficiently simple that I understand it...but, I am using a Pentax, and he is not. So now I'm trying to find the speedlight and trigger that will work with my PEntax K200D. I understand that the Yongnuo 585 is compatible....but what remote tigger works with this rig?
The YN 585EX is a P-TTL flash, but doesn't have a build-in radio receiver for triggering it, nor does Yongnuo have a radio trigger that will fire it in P-TTL mode. You could use it in manual mode off-camera, but you would need both a receiver and transmitter like the a pair of Yongnuo RF-603N II. These triggers can be used as either transmitter or receiver and while they are for a Nikon camera, they work on Pentax as well.