Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-10-2020, 09:38 AM - 2 Likes   #1

Just Scored a Vivitar 283 for $4.99!

Tuesday while I was making the rounds of Goodwill stores I bought a Vivitar 283 for $4.99! I already own two, modified for 5 volts on the shoe, and with the missing sensors replaced with 12-position miniature rotary switches (they are both used off-camera with wireless triggers). The one I bought Tuesday has the sensor - the first one I have ever had. I am looking forward to modifying the shoe to 5 volts and then trying it on-camera on my K-70. All of my 283s are the original Japanese production that were built with nearly 300 volts on the shoe.

12-10-2020, 09:43 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Great deal since you know what to do and a reminder to all of us to watch that trigger voltage.
12-10-2020, 10:21 AM   #3

Original Poster
I have been a professional electron herder for about 45 years, and began herding them as a hobbyist about 60 years ago, and I have a very well equipped electronics shop (see Star City Antique Radios - The Compact Shop), so my modifications to the Vivitar 283s are easy for me to do. There are some pages on 283 mods online, but some (replacing the sensor with one or two switches) are clumsy and I have a more elegant and compact solution. Others (some hot shoe mods) use parts that are unobtanium whereas my hot shoe and other mods use readily available components.
12-10-2020, 02:24 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Lucky scored!

12-10-2020, 06:29 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

That's almost free.
12-11-2020, 04:48 AM   #6

I never find anything worthwhile at Goodwill or pawn shops. Luck of the draw?

Would you mind sharing the schematics of your safety circuit? Or perhaps offer a service for conversion/modification on the MarketPlace?
12-11-2020, 09:25 AM   #7
Pentaxian

I had to look up what a Vivitar 283 is:

Nice one!

12-11-2020, 05:35 PM   #8