Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-07-2021, 10:54 AM   #1
Veteran Member

K-70, Metz 52 AF-1 and off camera flash

Sorry if this is beginner stuff but I had some questions about using a Metz 52 AF-1 off camera, specifically with P-TTL.
I’m new to flash photography and the K-70, I just picked up this flash. I saw the Gary Fong YouTube video regarding setup and really liked the idea of the wireless flash function of some Pentax cameras where the on camera flash didn’t contribute to the exposure. Naturally I was disappointed to know that this function that I never knew existed was not available on the K-70. How can I use P-TTL off camera other than a cord?
My understanding is that a few short years ago there were options like Acon, Aokatec wireless triggers but clicking on links and searching retailers, it seems like these might not be in production any longer. I think Godox might have a product but that it won’t work with my flash. Is buying another $300 dollar flash (I bought mine more than 50% off on recent sale) to use as a commander my only other option? My understanding is that the Metz 52 AF-1 has the ability to act as master or commander so that theoretically I could use a slightly lower end flash that has only slave function (not master) to act as the slave.

And just to make sure I have the terminology right:
Master - the flash on the camera directs the function of an off camera flash but also contributes to the exposure. In controlling the off camera flash this can be with p-TTL function or “dumb”/manual function.

Commander - the on camera flash sends signal to an off camera flash but doesn’t contribute to the exposure. This also can be p-ttl or manual functioning.