Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2021, 05:49 PM   #1

Flash that will work for Large Format and Pentax k50

Hi guys,

I'm new to the flash world, having concerned myself mainly with landscape shooting in the past.

However, I now have a new indoor portrait idea that I would like to shoot on my Sinar Norma large format 5x7. I would like to use my Pentax k50 to provide test shots so that I get an idea about whether the lighting is correct for film.

And this is where my problem lies. I want to get a flash that is suitable for both. I need 600ws and above for the large format, (possibly ideally 800ws or above), and I don't have much money, so I am looking at the second hand market.

What is confusing me is the suitability of the older flashes with my pentax digital.

First of all, I don't know how to even connect my Pentax to these external flashes, I've looked at the instructions, and they are confusing me. Lets say I want to just hook everything up with cables. Is this possible? Or do I have to use wireless of some sort? I really am at a loss here. I know I need to avoid high trigger voltage in my hot shoe.

The other thing I may have a problem with: I do not want my on-board camera flash popping up and firing a pre-flash in a master slave scenario. In the picture that I want to take, it it essential that no light is fired from the direction of the camera. So is this possible on the k50 with an external strobe flash?

Hope you can help.

01-27-2021, 06:07 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by MilamBardo Quote
First of all, I don't know how to even connect my Pentax to these external flashes, I've looked at the instructions, and they are confusing me. Lets say I want to just hook everything up with cables. Is this possible? Or do I have to use wireless of some sort? I really am at a loss here. I know I need to avoid high trigger voltage in my hot shoe.