Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-20-2021, 07:22 AM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bolt VM-160 LED Macro Ring Light?

Greetings, friends...

Anyone have any comments on this ring light? Got one a week or so ago and I'm curious about others' experience with it.

So far, I can say that it seems a little fiddly -- the power/data cable doesn't unplug, making the mounting process a bit of a challenge, and of course the adapter ring I needed (52mm) was packed, with others, in a non-obvious part of the box. Little adapter ring packets had no outside ID markings so I had to open most of them to find the one I needed...back into the box with mm size noted by Sharpie on the little baggie.

Works OK, good controls, can do continuous LED or flash. I confess I'm not a flash expert so that option will probably require some testing/playing. Not at all sure what use the yellow and blue diffusers will be (ideas welcome). Adds some surprising weight to the rig.

I think I need to set up the tripod and do some Rube Goldberg "studio" shots.

Any knowledge to share? Thanks in advance!

04-20-2021, 08:09 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
I have yet to find a way to get mine to properly sync with my K-1 but used as a continuous light, it works fine, though it's no comparison for a real Xenon ring light in terms of brightness, nor short flash duration. It's pretty useful for macro shots and given its price, it's pretty reasonable for what it is.

It is probably easier to use a filter on the lens if you want the colored effects offered by the colored diffusers which cut the light output of the flash that much more. I don't really see a need for those.

I use rechargeable NiMH batteries which saves on battery discards.
04-20-2021, 08:17 AM   #3
Forum Member