Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-10-2021, 01:40 PM   #1
Pentaxian

5 in 1 Reflectors

I’ve got zero studio experience and can’t remember the last time I used a flash, but I’m interested in experimenting with portraits and product photography.

A 5-in-1 looks like a pretty cheap investment, but there are a few options for sizes and shapes.

Any tips for picking a size/shape?

07-10-2021, 01:55 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Depends on if you are working in a studio or outside. I have a small set that folds up to maybe an 8" round bag for use in the field, mostly for flowers and other small items. I think it expands to maybe 24". For portraits I have found the larger the better but others with more experience might have a different opinion. In the studio getting the reflector arranged and held in place has always been the hard part for me so consider how you will hold it. If you have an assistance then there is no issue but if not think about how you can easily hold and adjust it.
07-10-2021, 03:39 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Not sure on 5 and 1 specifically, but some reflectors have a silver side and a gold side for a warmer cast, so you may want to keep that in mind too.
07-10-2021, 03:53 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by clickclick Quote
Not sure on 5 and 1 specifically, but some reflectors have a silver side and a gold side for a warmer cast, so you may want to keep that in mind too.
Semi transparent
White
Black
Silver
Gold
That the five

07-10-2021, 04:23 PM   #5
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by tmoses Quote
Semi transparent
White
Black
Silver
Gold
That the five
Gotcha. Sounds like it covers about everything then.
07-10-2021, 11:43 PM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums