Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-30-2009, 05:49 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
AF360FGZ or AF540FGZ???

Hey there I'm just deciding and need some advice on which flash I should purchase the AF360FGZ, AF540FGZ.I'm no professional(yet...lol) but I do want to start taking portrait shots and using the flash for fill but don't kno if its justified spending almost double the amount on the 540 or weather save the money(to go towards a lens) and just stick with the cheaper option(360).
Maybe someone who has used or is currently using both of these flashes and can advise.

Regards
Simon

01-30-2009, 06:07 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Simon23 Quote
Hey there I'm just deciding and need some advice on which flash I should purchase the AF360FGZ, AF540FGZ.I'm no professional(yet...lol) but I do want to start taking portrait shots and using the flash for fill but don't kno if its justified spending almost double the amount on the 540 or weather save the money(to go towards a lens) and just stick with the cheaper option(360).
Maybe someone who has used or is currently using both of these flashes and can advise.
Are you planning to use the flash on-camera? In that case, the lack of swivel for the AF360FGZ may be a deal-breaker. And you may want to look at the Sigma EF-530 DG or Metz 48 AF-1.
01-30-2009, 06:45 AM   #3
Inactive Account

I couldn't justify the extra cost of the 540 over the 360 (particularly at the prices for them in OZ- I'm no pro either.

In the end I went with the 360 and I am very happy with it. The swivel head on the 540 would help with a bit more versatility if you are doing Wedding receptions etc, but I find the 360 adequate for bouncing off the ceiling in most situations.

My advice is if you are serious about portrait photography, buy the 360 flash and use the money saved, for a DA70mm lens and/or flash stand and umbrella for off camera flash.
01-30-2009, 06:52 AM   #4

Original Poster