Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2009, 11:29 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Best Non-PTTL flash for K10D

I'm a flash newbie and need some advice.

All my lenses are the old -A type, so I understand I can't get any benefit from a PTTL flash. I would, however, still like to have rear-curtain and HSS available to me.

What do you recommend?

02-02-2009, 11:51 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Rear-curtain & HSS are features introduced with the P-TTL flashes so none of the older flashes offer this to my knowledge. That being said, I believe that Pentax-A works fine (other than probably auto flash head zoom) with P-TTL, while pre-A (K/M/M42) are restricted. So if you want HSS/rear-curtain, you should go for a good P-TTL flash. By all means confirm this but the K10D manual says they should work.

The AF-360FGZ and AF-540FGZ are also good in their versalitility by offering A and M modes as well which would work better if you have pre-A lenses.
02-02-2009, 12:37 PM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In addition to what AndrewG said, a ttl flash won't do you any good either because the K10d doesn't support ttl. That would limit you to automatic flashes.
02-02-2009, 12:50 PM   #4
WJW
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by AndrewG NY Quote
Rear-curtain & HSS are features introduced with the P-TTL flashes so none of the older flashes offer this to my knowledge.
Actually, all of the AFxxxFT/G flashes can do trailing curtain sync with auto-focus bodies. HSS is limited to the newer FG units.

02-02-2009, 01:04 PM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

QuoteOriginally posted by les9596 Quote
I'm a flash newbie and need some advice.

All my lenses are the old -A type, so I understand I can't get any benefit from a PTTL flash. I would, however, still like to have rear-curtain and HSS available to me.

What do you recommend?
Just to clarify