Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-04-2009, 06:56 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Is my brand new SigmaEF-530 DG Super DOA?

I ordered it new from TriState last week, came in yesterday. For reference, this is my first flash and I'm extremely new to the DSLR scene with my new K100D. First off I put some Enloops in it and turned it on, off the camera. I heard the barely audible whine of it charging, then after about 2 seconds the display starts blinking ER and the only other info on the display is TTL and P:

It will continue blinking ER even if I turn off the power. Only removing the batteries will shut it off. I've tried powering it up on and off the camera, with the camera on and off, and tried it with a fresh set of alkalines (Duracell) to no avail. I'm thinking it's DOA, the instruction manual is pretty sparse in the troubleshooting department.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

02-04-2009, 07:47 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
That error message is right in the area that my 530 shows the lens' focal length. Have you mounted the flash on a camera with a lens? Preferably a modern lens that has all the reporting connections for aperture, FL etc.
02-04-2009, 08:14 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by audiobomber Quote
That error message is right in the area that my 530 shows the lens' focal length.
Which makes me guess that it means that the zoom head is stuck.
02-04-2009, 08:37 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by audiobomber Quote
That error message is right in the area that my 530 shows the lens' focal length. Have you mounted the flash on a camera with a lens? Preferably a modern lens that has all the reporting connections for aperture, FL etc.