Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-10-2009, 05:10 PM   #16
Veteran Member

Best Bang for the buck.

Old fashioned flash powder without a doubt. Smoke too.

Mickey

02-10-2009, 07:07 PM   #17
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by rparmar Quote
The Metz 58 AF-1 upgrades this with a built-in sensor to support "A" mode, plus a built-in infill flash.
What is "A" mode? I guess it has nothing got to do with the "A" setting on lenses, since the Metz 48 AF-1 should support that too, right?

I don't understand "built-in infill flash" either.

Would be great if you could elaborate.
02-10-2009, 08:08 PM   #18
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by Class A Quote
What is "A" mode? I guess it has nothing got to do with the "A" setting on lenses, since the Metz 48 AF-1 should support that too, right?

I'm not a flash expert but as I understand it the infill flash is actually a second bulb that can be independently set in power to illuminate the target. So, say you bounce the main flash off the ceiling to get a nice ambient light. You can still use the infill flash to bring out some detail in the subject, since it will flash head-on.

The "Auto mode" is indeed nothing to do with a lens, at least not directly. It is an intelligent metering mode that uses the flash's own light sensor to determine the correct brightness, coupled to the cameras settings. So it's an alternative to P-TTL. But since the flash works in all wireless P-TTL modes, someone smarter than me will have to chip in to explain the advantage(s) of using Auto mode instead.
02-10-2009, 08:09 PM   #19
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Class A Quote
Right. This A stands for Auto rather than Aperture. It means the flash makes its own automatic decision about when the exposure is correct, without help from either you or the circuitry in the camera body. More: Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison: Other Flash Modes

QuoteQuote: