Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-31-2007, 03:13 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How exactly do you use flash?

I'm a total newb when it comes to using a flash. I have a manual Sunpak (can tilt and rotate) and I know enought to guess and check my way around settings. Like the distances, aperture, ISO and shutter speeds. Usually I can get a decently exposed photo after like 2-5 shots.

But I was just wondering, how are the auto flashes? I tried my friends Olympus FL-36 and it seems to calculate everything for me. Like all I do is stick it on and shoot and it gives me decent photos without me even to have to fiddle around! My friend uses an E-1 with a ZD 14-54. Will the new auto flashes from Pentax or w/e brand do the same? I noticed that all the new flashes (the auto ones?) have red clear capsules, these contain the light sensors and stuff right?

Sorry I don't understand much about flash. I really just need it for better lightning so an auto one with be nice. I also read that my GX-1L (by virtue of being an *ist DL2 clone) doesn't have TTL.

Thanks yea I know this is probably confusing to read too cuz I'm not even sure if I'm asking the right questions.

Last edited by FotoPete; 03-31-2007 at 03:24 PM.
04-01-2007, 08:15 AM   #2
Pentaxian

FotoPete,

I too will be upgrading my flash sometime this year. I currently use my old Vivitar that I used with my ME Super. Right now I'm really working with the Vivitar to get a better understanding what features I really wish I had. I've been having a lot of fun playing with bounce flash per this link, ABetterBounceCard.com.

I've also enjoyed reading about flashes at JensR site jr-worldwi.de: Photography: Technic

Hope this helps a little

Tim
04-01-2007, 02:26 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Yea I currently use a bounce card. Hey does that plastic cup thing actually work for longer ranges like portraits? Or good for only Macro?
04-01-2007, 03:08 PM   #4