Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-17-2009, 08:46 AM   #1

Adorama Flashes

So, I've been looking into expanding, or I guess rather, starting my lighting setup. I'm basically looking to get the best "bang for the buck" as I'm just starting out. I'm debating some low end studio lights, like the FlashPoint II from Adorama ... or getting a couple shoe mount flash units and of course using them off camera.

If I go the shoe mount flash route, I'll probably get a fairly decent main flash to use on camera as well ... and then I came across the Adorama flashes, like the "Auto Bounce" and "Twinblitz". I haven't been able to find much useful information on these flashes. Is anybody here using them, or have some advice either way on whether I should consider them or not?

Thanks.

03-17-2009, 09:10 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Generally speaking - you get what you pay for. And while I do like Adorama as a store, I'm not really fond of their 'store brand' product offerings.

Having said that, there are viable and affordable flash options out there. The Vivitar 285HV was a great workhorse flash and if you can find pre-buyout copies they're great. The design was sold recently to Cactus however, and quality control and reliability are now highly suspect on any newly stocked 285HV you may see.
There's a new flash that just hit the market though that looks very interesting. It was designed by one of the techs over at Midwest Photo Exchange with Lumopro, and the feature set was put together from requests and advice from the Strobist community. Here's the info on it from strobist.com; there are links to where to buy in the blog post...
Strobist: Manual Flashes: Two Debuts and an Adoption

By the way, both of those Adorama flashes are out of stock on backorder which in my experience with adorama means "no freakin idea if we'll ever get this item again".
03-17-2009, 09:34 AM   #3

Original Poster