Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-03-2009, 06:18 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Why is SR disabled in wireless flash mode?

Okay, so I'm a total noob at off-camera flash, but I'm wondering *why* is Shake Reduction automatically turned off when the Flash Mode is set to W(ireless)?

Does this have something to do with acceptable shutter-speeds for flash? (I guess trailing-curtain sync won't work in Pentax wireless...).
Thanks for any illumination (pun) on the topic!

04-03-2009, 07:49 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
I think they needed the CPU cycles for commander mode. They thought SR doesn't matter anyways since a flash's strobe pulse will freeze any action lit by the flash...
Sucks that we can't use the popup flash in this mode as a focus assist light (no flash) though...it just turns off SR so doing handheld low light work is harder...
04-03-2009, 08:13 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by panoguy Quote
Okay, so I'm a total noob at off-camera flash, but I'm wondering *why* is Shake Reduction automatically turned off when the Flash Mode is set to W(ireless)?
I'd guess it's probably a matter of timing. Fortunately with flash you don't really need SR.
04-03-2009, 08:49 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by ManuH Quote
I'd guess it's probably a matter of timing. Fortunately with flash you don't really need SR.
Well, I've actually done some shots where keeping the background from being all black required a slower shutter and the flash just pops the foreground (SR makes a world of difference under 1/20).

I'm just waiting for my Cactus V4 triggers to arrive from Taiwan so I can forget about this problem (and kiss P-TTL goodbye in the process...).

04-03-2009, 09:54 AM   #5
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by kenyee Quote