Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2009, 09:59 PM   #1
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Underexposed pics with new Sigma EF 530 DG Super Flash. What I'm I doing wrong?

Hello,

I just received my new flash: a Sigma EF 530 DG Super for my K100DS. The user's manual of the flash is pretty basic.
Anyway, I started practicing with it and I noticed that the pictures taken with the pTTL mode were dark. So I did some experimenting with manual flash control and it works fine.
I took about 30 pictures at different settings and logged them: Straight, diffused, bounced etc. It seems that in order to take a decent exposure, I need to overexpose by 2 full stops!
The brightness histograms confirm this.

Here are some examples:
For these 3 shots the settings were: RAW, 1/60 shutter speed, f5.6, pTTL mode, 85mm(55mm) focal lenght, no diffuser, no bounce angle, ISO-200, about 8 feet from the subject

no exp compensation

+1 exp comp in the camera

+2 exp comp in the camera

Am I doing something wrong? There are some settings in the flash I don't recognize and not mentioned in the manual. Like C0 C1 C2, SL etc.
Can someone shed some "light" on this subject?

Thanks,
Ismael

04-10-2009, 10:42 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I've got a 530 Super with a K20D. I use +1.0 EV in the camera flash compensation setting in conjunction with +1.0 on the flash unit. About the same as you. I may end up dropping it to +0.5 on the flash.

See: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/camera-studio-accessories/51143-sigma-ef-530-dg-super-initial-comments.html
Dan.

Last edited by dosdan; 04-10-2009 at 11:26 PM.
04-11-2009, 12:48 PM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ismaelg Quote
Am I doing something wrong? There are some settings in the flash I don't recognize and not mentioned in the manual. Like C0 C1 C2, SL etc.