Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2009, 07:13 AM   #1

Help! Off camera flash cord problem

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

Hi from Peter in Costa Rica! I have a Vivitar 285hv which works without a problem on my K10d. I recently bought a flash bracket and promaster off-camera TTL cord for Pentax but the 285 does not work when I attach it to the cord. Also, if I mount the cord on the bracket the flash triggers constantly every time it powers up! I am a flash novice so would appreciate any help in this matter. Thanks!

07-02-2009, 05:46 PM   #2

Photos: Gallery
You need to make sure the flash is fully on the shoe of the "off-camera TTL cord " so the pins/terminals line up.

You might want to check each terminal with a meter to make sure there are no broken wires inside the cord. i.e put the meter between the matching pins on each end of the cord.

Bracket, the reason the flash is firing is it is shorting out the pins on the shoe on the bracket. you might want to look at slipping in a piece of thin tape or film between the shoe and the bracket, this should stop the terminals touching the metal bracket plate.
07-03-2009, 06:01 AM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks Peacekeeper - this is actually the second unit I try as I thought the first was defective - your bracket suggestion worked but still not tripping via the camera shutter, oh well...
07-08-2009, 08:46 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by peter sellmer Quote