Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-10-2009, 08:22 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Any threads for newbies about flashes?

Iīm trying to get any sence of what all things means when talking about flashes (not the cameraīs own (K20D)). I am thinking about bying one later on, perhaps in the autumn when it gets darker. Want tilt/swivel-function. Want to work also manual.

My wonderings:
- What does it mean to work wireless with a flash?
- Is it even possible to work wireless with just one flash (exept for the cameraīs own)?
- With which flashes is it possible to work wireless (off the camera)?
- What do I need to work wireless?

I donīt understand the differences between P-TTL and TTL.

Iīve read this page, but it doesnīt helped me so much. Pentax P-TTL Flash Comparison: The Definitive Guide

Thanx a lot for your answers!!

07-10-2009, 10:14 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am not an expert but am happy to share what I know that answers some of your questions.

-What does it mean to work wireless with a flash?
(A) Simply that an off-camera flash is controlled by the camera but not connected by wire. The control may be by pre-flashes from the built-in to an off-camera flash. Or it can be via radio signal by using add-on controller/receivers to camera and flash.

-Is it even possible to work wireless with just one flash
(A) Yes, I do all the time. My K20D built-in flash that starts when it flashes, starts the slave flash also. The slave must be able to see the first flash in order to function. I can have the slave flash on a bracket only 20cm from the camera body for macro shots when using both flashes, or have the slave flash on the other side of the room for portrait lighting.

-With which flashes is it possible to work wireless?
(A) I can't give you a complete list. The Guide you mentioned is a good start if you are looking at Pentax compatible wireless without buying radio signal gear.