Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-16-2009, 12:02 PM   #1

Best inexpensive flash with these features...

I've been looking for a good flash to use instead of my K100D Super's built-in unit.

It's been a while since my last photo course, and I'm having a hard time remembering how to compare flashes and their features.

But my must have features are:
  • Good compatibility with K100D Super
  • Rotate AND swivel head
  • Rear curtain sync
  • Some form of AUTO mode
  • Wireless / slave possibility

It would also be nice to have an AF assist lamp feature.

I'm looking for something cheap and likely used on eBay, preferably $100 or under. I don't care how old school. I'm not a pro, and I don't need the fanciest or best out there.

Any ideas on a good, well-rounded flash that has these features?

07-16-2009, 02:02 PM   #2
YJD
Veteran Member

I'm interested in the answers you will get. I'm looking into buying another cheap flash with most of the feature s you are describing.

I think one of the Sunpak could do what you are looking for, but don't remember which one.
07-16-2009, 02:19 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I don't think there exists any flash unit $100 or under having all the "must have" features in your list, in parcular:
  • Rear curtain sync
  • AF assist lamp

If you can't or don't want to spend a good chunk of money right now, my recommendation is to find a decent flash (may be used) with:
  • Auto mode
  • Variable manual output
  • Tilt and/or swivel head

Even you'll buy a full-featured dedicated flash (e.g. Pentax 540, Metz 58) later on, you can still use this flash.
07-16-2009, 03:24 PM   #4
YJD
Veteran Member

I found that one on eBay but don't know if it is any good: Sunpak Mz-440AF. It seems to have the following:
  • Rotate AND swivel head