Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2009, 09:07 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Getting started with off camera flash photography.

Hey you guys, I am a total newbie at this. I have never used a umbrella kit before. I am going to invest some money into a umbrella kit so I can experiment a little bit on my friend's car, a table with a object on it, and sometimes a real person.

Right now I have a Metz 48 AF-1 flash, a Sto-Fen Omnibounce diffuser, and a wireless Pentax remote control F. I want to practice using some real studio equipment.

I really have no idea what I need at first, so I googled up a bit of information. I am interested in this type of photography. I have chosen out a couple of items to get started off with and are these enough to get started with? Am I missing something?

A starter umbrella kit.
Impact | Digital Flash Umbrella Mount Kit | DFUMK | B&H Photo

I don't even know why I need this, I read some online tutorial on how to get started with umbrella lighting, and it says I need this. I'll figure it out once I get it.
Paramount | PW-PC1 Sync Cord - Miniphone to PC | PMPWPC1 | B&H

Gel holder.
LumiQuest | (LQ-121) FXtra Compact Gel Holder with 8 | LQ-121

This is for the Gel holder.
LumiQuest | Cinch-Strap for Big Bounce and Softboxes | LQ-117

Last edited by LeDave; 10-25-2009 at 09:17 PM.
10-25-2009, 09:58 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Have you checked out strobist.com? Lots of info there, while you wait for a knowledgeable person to reply to this thread.
10-26-2009, 03:24 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
off camera flash

LeDave: I am in the same boat searching for info on the subject and what works and doesn't work. I am interested to hear what others have to say.

flippedgazelle: Thanks for the link. There sure is a lot of info. I spent several hours reading it and other related links.
10-26-2009, 04:06 AM   #4
Veteran Member