Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2010, 12:04 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
questions about off camera flash

I have a K 10 D and a Promaster 7200EDF flash. I am ready to try my hand at some off camera flash and I have a ton of questions.

I'd like to get a wireless trigger. But not exactly sure what I would look for. Do I need to get one designated for Pentax cameras? Or more dedicated to the flash? or a combination of both? Anyone have any recommendations? Is the Promaster flash I mentioned an okay one to start with for OCF and a shoot through umbrella? Or should I start saving for a different flash? I read a lot about Cactus triggers on another site, but most people on that site shoot Cannon or Nikon, so I'm not sure if that's something just for those brands.

Any suggestions, comments, ideas are very much appreciated. I want to get started, but really don't know what to look for.

Thanks in advance for any help!

01-12-2010, 03:22 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Your only option for using the Promaster 7200 EDF off camera is via a P-TTL cord. The flash has no manual settings, it is P-TTL or nothing. You maybe might be able to get the flash to fire at full power with a wireless trigger, but I wouldn't bet on it. Buying a long P-TTL cord is going to be as expensive as buying a manual flash and a set of triggers so you might as well get the more versatile solution of a manual flash and trigger.

Thank you
Russell

Last edited by Russell-Evans; 01-12-2010 at 03:29 PM.
01-12-2010, 05:01 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thank you for the response. Is there a Manual flash you would recommend? Or would you just stick with a Pentax? and if so, which one?
01-13-2010, 06:22 PM   #4
Inactive Account

Your K10d has a built in wireless trigger. You just need the latest firmware upgrade. I am currently using a k10d with the AF360FGZ off camera. I believe it also works with the metz 48.

01-13-2010, 11:48 PM   #5