Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-13-2010, 12:26 PM   #1

A Flash n00b

Ok, so I just got a Metz 48 AF-1 yesterday, and have no idea where to begin. I'm completely new to flash photography and I was wondering if anyone could lead me to some information that might help me learn how to use a flash effectively. I would mainly be using it for portraits, and special event photography (wedding receptions, banquets, etc.)

Also, I've read on here that when using P-TTL, you usually need to set some kind of EV compensation on the flash. I know it's all objective as to what the photographer thinks is a good exposure, but is there any base line I can use to work off of?

Any help would be much appreciated.

P.S., if I should have put this in the Beginner's Corner instead of Techniques and Styles, I apologize. I feel like this thread can fit in either of the two.

02-13-2010, 05:09 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by PeteyJ Quote
Ok, so I just got a Metz 48 AF-1 yesterday, and have no idea where to begin. I'm completely new to flash photography and I was wondering if anyone could lead me to some information that might help me learn how to use a flash effectively. I would mainly be using it for portraits, and special event photography (wedding receptions, banquets, etc.)

Also, I've read on here that when using P-TTL, you usually need to set some kind of EV compensation on the flash. I know it's all objective as to what the photographer thinks is a good exposure, but is there any base line I can use to work off of?

Any help would be much appreciated.

P.S., if I should have put this in the Beginner's Corner instead of Techniques and Styles, I apologize. I feel like this thread can fit in either of the two.