Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-17-2010, 07:40 PM   #1

Radio triggers and flash sync speed

So a friend from work is willing to sell me his Vivitar 285 (old, non HV version).
He also knows that I am interested in getting some budget radio triggers so he lent me his Phottix PT-16 set too... just to play around. I am pretty new to photography and absolute noob with flash photography.

I noticed that with max sync speed of 1/180 I get a black bar on the bottom of the frame. Bummer.. read a lot about how we can’t push the shutter past 1/180 and I’m very disappointed that I might be locked to measly 1/125 shutter speed .
Now as a kicker, I do not get rear curtain showing if I use my Pentax 360FGZ in the wireless mode without radio triggers triggering the flash. I can’t test it with my friends Phottix PT-16 as I can’t attach it to my flash. I think I need one of those hot-shoe type of connectors to connect it to the wireless flash, right?

Question; Am I having this issue with slow sync speed because of the radio triggers or because of the flash?

Does anyone with Cactus V4 and Vivitar 285 have any experience with this?

Oh, I am using K20D...

Thank you very much!

02-17-2010, 07:57 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I think it's because it's not sync'd properly. Your shutter is closing too fast causing light to cut off from the sensor before it reaches the bottom area. It's a user or camera/flash fault, not the receiver or trigger.
02-17-2010, 08:17 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
replace the battery in the transmitter...
02-18-2010, 08:38 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by sash Quote
Question; Am I having this issue with slow sync speed because of the radio triggers or because of the flash?

Does anyone with Cactus V4 and Vivitar 285 have any experience with this?
I have the same setup, actually a collection of (6) 285's and cactus, which I still have but I upgraded to Cybersyncs...