Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2010, 09:16 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
No Clue What to Do With My Flash

Once again I bit off more than I can chew. I bought an AF-540. No clue on where to begin.
I have it set to P-TTl and understand that its a pre flash that discharges and then another flash dishcharges when the exposure is captured. I also get this "pre flash" when I go to TTl. I guess I was under the impression that when I switched to TTL that I would only get one flash and it would be more of an instant result.
Can someone recommend some references to read on basic flash use...and some terms/abbreviations that I should make sure I'm familiar with before I get my feet wet.

also....any simple recommendations to explore for simple results?
Maybe I'm not ready for this type of photography.

03-01-2010, 10:24 AM   #2
Ira
Inactive Account

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm no expert, but the pre-flash may be firing because of your auto-focus setting, using the flash to nail down focus.

See what happens if you simply turn off auto-focus.
03-01-2010, 11:59 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Read the manual that came with your flash. It's a hard go, I know, but will help some. The pre-flash for pTTL does happen, but should not be terribly noticeable under normal circumstances. The flash will not operate correctly in TTL mode, only pTTL mode.

Check that you do not have red-eye reduction turned on. There is also a flash sticky in the accessories forum.
03-01-2010, 12:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Canada_Rockies Quote
Read the manual that came with your flash. It's a hard go, I know, but will help some. The pre-flash for pTTL does happen, but should not be terribly noticeable under normal circumstances. The flash will not operate correctly in TTL mode, only pTTL mode.