Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-07-2010, 07:39 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Need advice on buying an external flash

Im new to external flashes so i basically dont know anything or use an external flash before and need some advice. I was thinking of getting the AF-540 but i saw the reviews at amazon is very low so i need a 2nd opinion. Im also afraid that the AF540 will be too advance for me to handle.
Should i be getting something like a AF360 or Metz48 as a beginner..
I would also like to know what flashes do you use and why?
Thanks

Last edited by rustynail925; 03-07-2010 at 09:06 PM.
03-07-2010, 08:30 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Here is a great summary put together by a forum member. It helped me decide on the Metz 48 to fill all my requirements. Just make sure you know what your requirements are. They all flash.

http://pttl.mattdm.org/
03-07-2010, 08:46 PM   #3
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by rustynail925 Quote
Im new to external flashes so i basically dont know anything or use an external flash before and need some advice. I was thinking of getting the AF-540 but i saw the reviews at amazon is very low so i need a 2nd opinion. Im also afraid that the AF540 will be too advance for me to handle.
Should i be getting something like a AF360 or Metz48 as a beginner
Forget about your beginner status. I don't know why people feel they need to limit options just because they are a beginner at something. Take the flash out of the box, put batteries in it, clip it on to the hot shoe, turn the flash on, as well as the camera , and go. As you decide you want to use the extra features, learn how to. It ain't rocket science. The more you limit yourself up front, the more frustrated you'll be in the end.