Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-27-2010, 11:36 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
narrowed down to 2 flashes (I think)

But I'm curious if I am heading in the right direction. I really want to be able to do some off camera flash with a shoot through umbrella. But would also like to be able to attach the flash to my camera to use as well. Right now I have a Promaster 7200 and it is all automatic. From what I've read on here before, I can only use that off camera with a sync chord...so, I think I would like either the Vivitar 285HV or the Lumopro LP 120. (I'm actually leaning more towards the Lumopro)

Anyone have an opinion on either one of these units?

Thanks!

03-27-2010, 04:03 PM   #2
Pentaxian
Moderator Emeritus

Photos: Gallery | Albums
So from your post, I'm assuming you want to avoid radio triggers? The Vivitar would need a cord off camera, optical slave or radio trigger. The Lumopro LP 120 I have no experience with but it has an optical slave, so no wires.

I don't like optical slaves because sunlight can effect the reliablity. Indoors if there is anyone else with a camera flash, it will fire. Finally it will not always fire from the camera flash. You might be at an incorrect angle and the slave doesn't trigger.

IMO radio triggers are the only way to go and much more reliable with much greater range. Very little will effect the operation.

I also notice from the company web site, that they don't list the power for the Lumopro LP 120. So I have no idea if it even has enough power to use an umbrella effectively. Although the write up seems nice, I suspect it's a fairly basic flash. Plus it's not P-TTL for on camera work and it's going to be all manual shooting on camera. So will the Vivitar of course.