Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Winners P52-3-10 People:Street
Posted By: jmschrei, 10-11-2010, 10:03 PM

This is my first time judging and I do not feel qualified to make a comment on each entry, especially since this is a type of photography with which I have absolutely no experience. So I would like to thank and congratulate everyone who entered this week because I know that for some of us this was well outside our comfort zones!

With relatively few entries, everyone gets an honourable mention (my prerogative)! Picking the top three was much more difficult.

I chose the winners based primarily on whether the image invited me to want to know, or create, a story for the person or people portrayed.

Third:

bbluesman: Anyone familiar with Mark's work knows that he is more comfortable than most with street photography. I felt that this was a particularly effective shot because it does not feel like the photographer is a distant observer. The composition and shallow DOF pull the viewer into the subject's experience but allows us to imagine what he might be thinking or why.

Second:

leadbelly: This shot has a classic journalistic quality - wonderful perspective, composition and a haunting feel. I was drawn into this image at first sight.

First:

Clou: Wow! There is so much happening in this photo and a sense of celebration but the young couple are clearly in a world of their own. The look of young love on the boy's face is priceless. Excellent capture and the sepia treatment certainly does enhance the timelessness of the moment. Congratulations!
Views: 2,524
10-11-2010, 10:51 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Very nicely chosen winner.
Congrats Clou and well done to the other entrants
10-11-2010, 10:56 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Thanks for judging Joe(and the 3rd place) and kudos to Leadbelly and Michael. Plenty of other good shots in this competition.