Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
1 Like  #1
Winners P52-3-13 Exposure: High Key
Posted By: Iris, 11-02-2010, 02:20 PM

It is really nice to win Project 52 , but sometimes it can be quite a burden .
Especially when you have to judge a “technical” challenge like this weeks project 52-3-13 Exposure: High-Key.
I am an absolute beginner and I find it very, very difficult to decide what is a real high key picture and what isn’t!

That’s why I used the websites Rense gave us for some tips I could use in my judgement.
A successful high-key image is one where the tones represented in the histogram are predominantly in the right-hand side of the horizontal scale.
• image’s key tone is high
• control of dark tones: essentially we don’t want them
• working with flat and generous lighting while avoiding the use of dark clothes.

These things I will use in my judgement.
But first I would like to thank you all for participating (again).
It is nice to see so many regular participants. And welcome to all the not so regular participants,
I hope to see you more often!

Joe (jmschrei):
This is a difficult picture for me to judge.
The tones represented in the histogram are in the right-hand side of the horizontal scale, but just.
No dark tones, no shadows, but still got the impression that the image key tone is not high enough.
I like the composition of the picture.

Lisa (mummarazzi):
Great high-key picture. It is a lovely composition.
Most of tones in the histogram are predominantly on the right side.
The picture would even be more high-key if the baby wore pants with lighter spots (like blue or pink),
but I like it this way already.

Mark (bbluesman):
Of course "people" from you, I would not expect something else
Well this is definitely not a real high key picture,
as the tones represented in the histogram are nicely distributed along the whole horizontal scale.