Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
1 Like  #1
P52-5-27: Colour — Colourful WINNERS!
Posted By: Tamia, 07-08-2013, 12:42 PM

Thanks to Tsukiouji for stretching us with this last week's P52 topic this time around, which was Triadic, Tetradic and Square Color Harmonies. This was a tough assignment for entrants AND the judge! There's a lot of information to juggle and keep in mind when choosing what to photograph for this theme. I suspect that many of us are instinctively drawn to photograph scenes that include harmonious color combinations. But to actually go looking for those pictures is another thing altogether.

Enough throat clearing. Time for judging, which is never easy, and this time around was particularly difficult. In assessing the photos I looked for the usual solid photographic techniques like composition, but also whether the images fits the theme of this contest. I'm no expert on color theory or practice, so there's an inevitable amount of subjectivity in my selections of winners, and it was a very tough one to judge because everyone did so good a job. But here goes, with comments on each entry first and winners later:

Tess/Tessfully: You chose to create a still-life to fit the theme, and have a tetradic combination of colors (blue, violet, golden-yellow, orange-red) that work very well together. Your recent work with abstracts shows, too. The glass "sculpture" is a kind of wheel (a metaphor for a color wheel?). I like the spoked effect, the smooth and harmonious gradation of hue, the highlights, and the patches of bolder color. The composition is strong and carries my eye around the picture, but the sharply focused "hub" is a solid focal point to create a strong image with many pleasing elements.