Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
Winners - Weekly Date Challenge #3 June 1
Posted By: and, 06-25-2008, 11:04 PM

So, judgement day. I will say this type of contest is harder to judge for me because there is no theme and any subject is ok so you can be judging a landscape vs a portrait vs an action shot vs etc.

I would like to thank all of those who entered and contributed to having some fun. It was nice seeing all your images.

I try my best to judge but at the end of the day Im not a professional critic so take it with a pinch of salt

So, someone has to win so lets get on with it.

Honorable mentions:
c13_: Lot of flower shots this contest adding some "wildlife" in is a nice touch to make it more interesting. exposure of the flower seems good too, it can be very hard with some flowes, strong colors of the petals can make some channels blow out, but not so in this shot.

Fritz: stopping down to isolate the flower, nicely done also good detail on some of the petals.

3rd place
gawan: I like the light here, it makes the flower pop out from the background because it is brighter and seems to get a bit of back light too so I think the subject is very well done, I think the composition could be a bit better, the one bud on the right hand side is especially distracting. But I really like the way the subject is done and how it seperates from the backound. nitpicking here really.

2nd place
maxwell1295: Altho a bit dark for my taste (or should I say for my monitor) the composition is good and shows you thought about it and I like some extra effort to make a flower picture stand out from the tens of thousands of flower pictures. Nice shot

Winner and host of the next challenge (drumroll):