Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
PROJECT 52-2-35 Shutter: Slow WINNERS
Posted By: Tamia, 03-15-2010, 05:31 AM

PROJECT 52-2-35 is closed to entries. Thanks go out to everyone who entered. This wasn't an easy project, and
you all did an admirable job. This is my first time judging, and it's a lot more difficult than being a contestant! One of the things I
look for in slow shutter speed photos is the contrast between moving and stationary elements, and In think that a successful
juxtaposition between them is important to make slow shutter speed photos most appealing.

So now you know my thoughts on this kind of photography, here is my assessment:

Ash You have captured the fluid motion of water swirling around the solid, unmovable outcrop. Composition is very good, with
the converging triangles of bedrock and dreamy spume carrying the eye deep into the picture, where it then can drift freely along the
(straight) horizon and back to land to begin the journey once more. The colors are beautiful and complimentary. The faint blue smudge
or cloning attempt in the upper right portion of the photo was mildly distracting once I noticed it, but overall, this photo is a smashing
success, and makes me wish I was standing there on the shore.

Iris Yours is an imaginative approach to this subject, particularly as you are trying something you would never have attempted
if it wasn't for this P52 project theme. I love the layers in your evocative photo. Composition is a success, as my eye was first drawn
to the lights, then down the cord, then... awareness. It was a bit like seeing a photo resolve in the darkroom. Appealing sepia hues and
good tonal range. The sharper "light stars" and textured backboard contrast pleasingly with the softness of the rest of the image. Motion
is shown by the blurring of the pillows and the ghostly figures. An ingenious subject for this project, and very nicely done.