Good lens for a bokeholic like me.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1  Photo 
02-19-2018, 02:40 PM   #2
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

Lovely, Dave

How does it render bokeh transitions in normal use? I have a few Soviet lenses that produce these outlined out-of-focus highlights, and they can be a little "busy" in transitional areas of an image. Worth it for the wide open effects, though
02-19-2018, 06:00 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by BigMackCam Quote
Lovely, Dave

How does it render bokeh transitions in normal use? I have a few Soviet lenses that produce these outlined out-of-focus highlights, and they can be a little "busy" in transitional areas of an image. Worth it for the wide open effects, though

I just finished adapting this old Occilloscope lens this morning so I have very little experience shooting it. It's cold snowy winter still here in northern Wisconsin. I can't wait for spring to come and then I'll shoot this lens more outside.

I bought this lens for under $100 USD on Ebay, so I'm not expecting a lot from it. I expect that it will probably be a one trick pony lens (good at bokeh highlights but not much else). Still, it's fun testing odd ball lenses.
02-19-2018, 08:19 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Was it difficult to adapt?

02-24-2018, 12:00 AM   #5
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by IgorZ Quote
Was it difficult to adapt?
No very easy - for me. I've adapted dozens of rare/odd-ball lenses and have a knack for doing it.

This is a fixed focus lens. No ability to focus it, but it does have wonderful "built in" controls for aperture and shutter speed (although the fastest shutter speed available through the lens is only 1/50th - so I needed to disable the shutter on the lens and use the shutter on the camera itself).