Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
08-04-2011, 11:20 PM   #1
Caro

Pentax K-r with DA twin lens kit or Sigma?

Hello! I'm new to the SLR world and wondering if I could please ask advice.

I'm about to purchase a Pentax K-r but not sure which lens to purchase. I have seen one offer for the DA twin lens kit (18-55 & 55-300) or a Sigma 18-200. Given the price difference is marginal, which may be the better option? I have read that it's best to chose first party lenses if possible but have also read that the Sigma is a better option.

Many thanks.

08-04-2011, 11:57 PM   #2
Veteran Member

I hate kits with 18-55 and 50-200 or 55-300 because I do much shooting in the 35-70 range and swapping lenses around 50mm is a royal pain. (I have such a lens pair and don't use them together.) IMHO the best wide-range solution is the DA18-250 or its Tamron twin; those are no longer produced, but are still widely available on the used market. You should do well with the Sigma 18-200 superzoom, to get acquainted with the wonderful world of dSLRs.

My story: My first kit with my K20D just 3+ years ago included DA10-17 fisheye, DA18-250 superzoom, and FA50/1.4 Fast Fifty. Over 200 lenses later (and another 100+ sold to help pay for the keepers) those are still among my most-used, although I've supplemented the fisheye with the Tamron 10-24 ultrawide. An ultrawide, a superzoom, and an ultrafast, cover an awful lot of needs. Throw in a Raynox DCR-150 or -250 for near-macro shooting, and there's a good basic kit. Oh yeah, most of my lenses are cheap old manual primes. I like cheap!
08-05-2011, 12:09 AM   #3

I believe that the general rule is the broader the focal range, the less sharp the lens is. I got the 18-55mm and 55-300mm kit with my K-x and have been very satisfied with it. Swapping lenses is something that I've had to deal with, but I do believe it's worth it in the long run.