Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-27-2011, 03:25 AM   #1
Emma Brooks

First dslr advice

Hi everyone, i have been loitering around your site reading threads for awhile now and while i am learning lots it isn't helping me decide which camera to get! I am trying to be sensible and move slowly as i have never done photography or had any type of SLR camera. I love photography and have been saving for a VERY long time to buy my first DSLR. I have read about other brands of DSLR but would really like some feedback from other users as to what type of camera you think would best suit my needs.
I am a very very novice DSLR photographer, I have never been happy with my point and shoot photos. I have two kids (7months and 2years) and I want to take gorgeous photos of them (obviously) but also want to take good photos of whatever tickles my fancy.
After reading lots of threads i am thinking get a basic DSLR and when i am more sure of the type of photos i love to take, get a good lens that works for that style, i am just not sure which camera will best suit me (a novice who aims to improve as fast as I can learn it). I don't really want to have to upgrade the camera, I was thinking a K-R, if anyone has time to offer advice I would greatly appreciate it.
Thanks so much
Em

09-27-2011, 05:57 AM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
You really can't go wrong nowadays with any entry level camera, they all have much larger sensors than point and shoot cameras, will resolve the scene you are shooting very well and are much more responsive in their handling than a point and shoot. There are differences like image noise in low-light photos, focusing accuracy, feature sets, but will all do the same basic things.