Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-15-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
K-?

New DSLR's on the horizon?

I've been shooting with a K10D for about 4-5 years. Looking for a new body, but want to pull the trigger at the right time. Looking at previous announce dates, it looks like a K-r class camera is overdue (should have been in Sep) and a K-5 class camera is due January-ish. Any Ideas on what is on the horizon?

Following the pattern, there should be an update of the K-r (16mp sensor?) and a all new form factor K-5 "replacement" (with the same sensor)

(Advanced DSLR timeline)
K10D 13-Sep-06
K20D 23-Jan-08
K-7 20-May-09
K-5 20-Sep-10
K-? (Jan-12)

(Budget DSLR timeline)
K100D 22-May-06
K100D super 28-Jun-07
K200D 23-Jan-08
K-m 22-Sep-08
K-x 17-Sep-09
K-r 9-Sep-10
K-? (Sep-11)

I'm drawn to the K-5 and can't really imagine I'd "need" it's successor, but would love to get it on clearance, similarly with an unbeatable deal on a K-r 2nd body, and save for the new advanced body.

11-15-2011, 03:57 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
We can always speculate, and many have... a lot, but to my knowledge there isn't even a single piece of credible evidence about the next revision of Pentax DSLRs right now.
11-15-2011, 04:39 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Something is coming in January, even a Pentax representative said that.
11-15-2011, 05:30 PM   #4
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The usual signs have been there for a K-5 replacement - first a silver version to make us buy that second body and then a hefty price drop. I only hope they keep the K-5 form factor and control button layout.

11-15-2011, 07:09 PM   #5
Veteran Member

We have no idea what will be announced, nor when.
I suspect Ricoh will do something *very* surprising.
So don't faint if an announcement isn't as expected.
But keep those speculations and fantasies flowing.
11-15-2011, 07:35 PM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by RioRico Quote