Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-03-2011, 11:01 AM   #1
Bill2849

To repair or replace and how to decide

I am an amateur regarding cameras (as well as sometimes being a klutz). I have a Pentax K-x which recently met with an unfortunate accident when it fell (mounted on a tripod that was not securely positioned) about 5 feet to a linoleum covered concrete floor with the kit SMC Pentax DA L 1:3.5-5.6 18-55mm AL lens, apparently landing lens first.

This lens has a plastic lens mount that is now in 2 pieces with some area on the bottom where it also looks like part of the plastic is partly stripped away. The camera body appears to have 2 scratches in the view finder mirror (which is in a folded down position but does retract if I turn on the camera and snap the shutter). I do not see any other problems with the camera, but I really would not know what to look for.

I am assuming that the lens is probably "totaled" but if this is incorrect, I would appreciate being set straight. My main concern is whether it would be better to try to repair the camera body or find a replacement. I do have a telephoto (55-300 mm) kit lens as well but I am reluctant to experiment with it in case there might be something in the camera that might damage the lens. So I am looking for guidance first on whether there is anything else I should look for in trying to detect any further damage to the camera body and (second) whether I would be better off trying to repair the camera body or to replace the camera.

I appreciate any input that the members of this forum might have.

12-03-2011, 11:25 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Forget repairing the lens as you can buy a used one here on the forum at a better price than repairing the broken one.If the broken lens came off as normal with no visible damage to the camera you might try mounting the other lens to the camera and try and see if it is still functional.
Jake
12-03-2011, 04:39 PM   #3