Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
Haley

Pentax K1000 Lens Suggestions

Hello,

I'm a beginner with a Pentax K1000; I live in Baltimore and I'd like to take some photos around the city. I had a Tou/Five Star lens (MC Auto Macro Zoom; 1:4.5; 75-200 mm; 52 mm No. 85006992) until recently, but the shutter aperture broke. The only other lens I have is a SMC Pentax-M (1:2 50 mm) which doesn't seem to have a manual focus and no zooming capabilities. Obviously that's not going to work for me! As such I need to buy a new lens, I'm looking for one at least as powerful as my Tou/Five Star, with macro, zoom and at least 75-200 mm; but I'm not sure whether to just try to replace the Tou/Five Star or if there's a better lens I should try instead. My price range is anywhere from 20-80ish. I can't really afford any more than that.

I appreciate all advice/tips/suggestions.

Thank you!

01-02-2012, 06:30 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Bit of a tall order for that budget, but from the description and reviews the Pentax-A 70-200 sounds like a good fit and you might be able to find one within your budget or not much over.

Pentax-A 70-210mm F4 Reviews - A Zoom Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
01-02-2012, 07:19 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I'm confused - do you only take telephoto pictures? Given the choice between a 75-200mm lens or a 50mm lens, virtually all photographers would pick the 50m for general walkaround purposes; the 75-200 would be specifically for situations where you needed telephoto capabilities.
01-02-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
Haley

Thanks for the link baro-nite! I will definitely look into it.

Marc --

again, I know virtually nothing about proper photography and am open to tips/suggestions on how to get good results.