Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-07-2012, 11:33 AM   #1
jay wes

Newbie Transitioning into Photography

Hello all,

I have been using this forum immensely to research Pentax related things (lenses, cameras, etc.) and read up about other newbies and possible problems. I am new to the Pentax (and dslr) family having recently received the K-r this past Christmas from my wife as a gift.

Here's a little back story on me: I have been into photography for a good amount of time utilizing P&S for years but never really being satisfied with control of the images. My last P&S was a Nikon P80 mega-zoom. I utilized it to the fullest but still desired interchangeable lenses. I originally was looking into the Sony NEX 3 line but felt it wasn't a true dslr and would only serve to frustrate me further. Now that I have the K-r, I am very happy that I went this route.

I am trained as an architect (I am in the process of testing for my license) so photography has been a big part of my profession. I traveled/studied abroad to China while in college. The two moths I was there I captured a great deal of things but I wish I had a better camera than I did. Many of the images I captured, were pretty mediocre. In addition to architectural photos, throughout my studies I had to constantly photography my models and architecture school studies. Graphic design also had a great importance, so I have been using Photoshop, Illustrator& ImageReady to edit different things for years. Now a days in my daily work, I have to use dslr cameras to inspect buildings and document there conditions for repair. All of this only further inspired me to get my own and dive in.