Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-23-2012, 02:22 PM   #1
Msechols

Beginner

I have a pentax k-x and the kit lens that came with it broke or I broke it. I don't know how it happened. But however I want to take pictures close up. I have another lens but its for taking pictures in the distance. I am looking to purchase a lens that I can take close ups of the kids and record video with. It doesn't have to to be new. But a good used on will do. I am extremely new to this so If someone could please help me in this I would love it. PLEASE.

Thanks soooo much.....

08-23-2012, 03:47 PM   #2
Ari
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You should think about getting the 18-135 WR lens. It's pricey, but it will essentially cover the entire focal length you need. Keep an eye out in the forums for one. Also, keep an eye out on B&H and Adorama's used items. If you are looking for a prime lens for video and stills, see if you can find a good used 50mm lens.
Good luck!
08-24-2012, 07:27 AM   #3
Banned

Photos: Albums
Well the original posting mentioned close ups and then close ups of children.

I'd aim for the higher aperature models... The Pentax 55mm f1.4 - if that is close focus enough. If not then the Pentax FA 50mm f2.8 is probably the best macro that is still wide enough for most children indoor pics.

With keeping a better aperature it allows for better use in low light without losing/sacrificing the iso
08-27-2012, 01:56 AM   #4
Ari
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Medium FormatPro Quote
The Pentax 55mm f1.4 - if that is close focus enough. If not then the Pentax FA 50mm f2.8 is probably the best macro that is still wide enough for most children indoor pics.

With keeping a better aperature it allows for better use in low light without losing/sacrificing the iso