Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-26-2012, 04:07 PM   #1
The Happy Wanderer

k-x, changing remote shutter exposure

hi, im new to photography in general, but bought a k-x and now have a cordless remote, which i intend to use for night time and lightning shots. ive tested the remote, it works for instant snaps (click and it takes a shot). i need to know how to change the exposure so i can have the shutter stay open for longer periods, preferably - click remote to open the shutter, then click again to close it. thanks in advance for any info.

10-26-2012, 04:54 PM   #2
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
For a longer exposure , you need to set your camera to "M" MANUAL ,
then set your exposure to BULB , then you can open and close the shutter using your remote.
10-26-2012, 07:51 PM   #3
The Happy Wanderer

thanks, ive put the camera into 'M' manual, and went into menu, went to 'C' 2, then down to 12 = remote control in bulb. mode '1' says the option i want, which is to 'push remote control release button once to start exposure and a second time to end'. with this option (1) selected i tried to take a shot with the '2' clicks to start and end the exposure, but it still takes a single shot as soon as i click the remote button. where am i going wrong?
10-26-2012, 08:57 PM   #4
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I think what you need to do is set the camera on MF with the switch on the side of the camera, then with the dial, set it to bulb.

10-26-2012, 10:11 PM   #5
The Happy Wanderer

thanks for the replies, through them (and some experimentation lol) i was able to work it out. so if anyone else is looking for an answer to the same question i had, here's (in newby terms) how i did it;
1) go into menu --> then C-2, --> down to 12 'remote control in bulb'. --> set that option to 'mode 1'.
2) turn your dial to 'M'. (manual)