Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
02-20-2013, 05:32 PM   #1
John Roberts

Shopping for a DSLR

I've had an Olympus digital camera for eight years and am looking to move into the DSLR world. Three cameras have caught my eye due to their affordability (for my budget) and feature set: the Pentax K-30, the Nikon D5100 and the Canon Rebel T3.

I will be using the camera for work assignments at a small weekly newspaper where I am a writer first and photographer second. By no means am I an accomplished photographer, so I usually shoot in "Auto" mode and let the camera do all the thinking for me.

I cover the gamut from car wrecks, to group shots, to live action (from the sideline) at nighttime football and basketball games. I need a camera that performs equally well in all of these environments.

Since this is a Pentax forum, the response might be predictable, but we'll see.

1) Which camera is best for me?
2) Since I often have need for a wide angle lens and, for sports, a zoom lens, which TWO lenses do you recommend for me?

Thanks, from a first-time DSLR shopper.

02-20-2013, 05:41 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I may surprise you. Any of them. I only have experience with Pentax.

We can't answer 2 until you settle 1.

For low light, none of the kit lenses from any of them.
02-20-2013, 05:44 PM   #3
John Roberts

Thanks, Colbyt, but I guess I want someone to help me make up my mind about which camera is best for my needs based on the information that I provided.

If I go with the Pentax, is a K-30 package with two lenses -- 18-55mm and 55-300mm -- for about $900 a good value for my needs to take occasional wide-angle pics, general news pics and fast-action football game pics?

Thanks!
02-20-2013, 05:45 PM   #4
Veteran Member