Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-09-2013, 11:54 AM   #1
Sarah-Rose

Wanting to extend zoom capability

Hello,
I have bought myself a K-X, and this lens 'SIGMA AF 28-200MM F/3.5-5.6 Aspherical IF Lens' to go with it. I am completely new to dslr's so technical talk is lost on me at present. I read on the Amazon reviews that because of the sensor of the K-X (something about it being 1.5 larger?), a lens can potentially have its zoom multiplied by 1.5? My main reason for having this camera and lens combo is for wildlife photography, and to be able to get closer photos of butterflies and moths with scaring them off so I don't want to stand too close. I am finding that even with this lens, I am still having to get fairly close and they're flying off. I am still not able to get any full-frame photos of insects. Ideally, I'd like the 18-250 Sigma but money will not allow at the moment, not even second-hand. I did try and read up and figure this out on my own but I honestly don't understand the lingo yet. I started to read something about the aperture ring on the lens which I did adjust but it made no difference to me being allowed to adjust the focal length on the camera - now I'm totally lost. Please, could someone tell me if I am able to get more out of this lens on my camera? eg. more zoom? by adjusting something? And, if so, could someone talk it through with me. I do want to learn to use the camera properly but in the meantime don't want to miss any more good photo opportunities. Many Thanks, Sarah

06-09-2013, 12:38 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by First Poster Quote
Please, could someone tell me if I am able to get more out of this lens on my camera? eg. more zoom