Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
11-27-2013, 04:37 PM   #1
MX1

Nikon FF and Pentax

I just finished playing around with the Nikon Df. I am not a pro, just an average shooter. The easy to hold squared off body shape and manual dials on the Nikon really sparked an interest for me. When Pentax does a full frame model, what are the chances they will have a non-rounded body and manual controls for iso and shutter speed? I shoot manual lenses so this would be a real bonus and is the sole reason I have not gone to digital yet.

11-27-2013, 04:45 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Lots of people hope Pentax will make a retro DSLR, but I really doubt it will happen. The market is just not big enough for cameras with manual dials and optimized for manual lenses.
Though Pentax had a big role in the development of the SLR and would definitely have a lot of tradition to draw from.

Every once in a while a rumor thread pops up about something like the LX-D or some other mythical Pentax FF retro DSLR. No evidence of it happening, so far.
11-27-2013, 04:53 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by MX1 Quote
I just finished playing around with the Nikon Df. I am not a pro, just an average shooter. The easy to hold squared off body shape and manual dials on the Nikon really sparked an interest for me. When Pentax does a full frame model, what are the chances they will have a non-rounded body and manual controls for iso and shutter speed? I shoot manual lenses so this would be a real bonus and is the sole reason I have not gone to digital yet.
Very low, I'd say. You can't enter the market with a niche product IMO...

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)