Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-24-2013, 04:30 PM   #1
Kaylee

K20D deleting pictures

Hi,
I have been using a K20D for many years and I love it. However from time to time it deletes photos from my SD card. It was happening infrequently so I just ignored it. It now is doing it all the time and every time I take a picture it says that the image cannot be displayed. I just updated my firmware from 1.01 to 1.04. Has anyone else ever had this problem? Anyone know if the firmware update will fix this problem? I use Patriot LX series SD HC 16 GB cards. I seem to have more problems when trying to shoot in RAW format instead of JPEG. Does it make a difference whether I shoot in PEF vs DNG for the cards? I believe I was using PEF, but I just learned what the difference between PEF and DNG is 5 minutes ago on this forum....but it appears to default to PEF. There seems to be nothing else wrong with the camera and I love to get it back into working order. Any thoughts or comments?

Thanks so much

12-24-2013, 05:51 PM   #2
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Two things.
1. Do you format the SD card in the camera--you shouldn't use computer.
2. Did you try another SD card? If not I would try this first.
12-24-2013, 06:08 PM   #3
dms
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
You may wish to look at following:
Pentax K20D problem: Pentax SLR Talk Forum: Digital Photography Review
They talk about trying another card, trying another battery, making sure the card is properly seated in the camera.
The latest firmware is supposed to address some SD problems--but did it get worse after going to latest firmware? If so you may want to go back to earlier one (1.03).
12-25-2013, 02:57 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I agree with dms. Try a different SD card, format the card using the camera menu.