Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-01-2014, 09:10 PM   #1
Edward Kay

monochrome infrared with the K-3

all my monochrome infrared in the past has been taken, using my Mamiya 6x7 rangefinder camera...I am new at trying to get similar monochrome infrared on my new Pentax K-3.....do you have to use a R-72 filter on the front of the lens like I do on my film cameras...or can you get similar results, using camera only....do not really understand digital.....cheers Edward

03-01-2014, 09:15 PM   #2
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
You would have to do a longer exposure, but you can do an IR filter ont eh lens.
03-02-2014, 12:12 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
There are a variety of filters ranging from 670nm through 900+nm. The colors range from red through blue as the numbers go up. You might have to stack two filters to get the density you want.
03-02-2014, 05:43 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Post processing are amazing these days.

03-03-2014, 04:52 PM   #5
Senior Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The problem with ir on a digital camera is that, as with a film camera, you put a filter on the lens that theoretically lets only ir spectrum light pass through; but unlike on a film camera, that light then encounters a filter who's purpose is to stop ir light from reaching the sensor. It's a bit like trying to see through 2 polarizer filters turned 90 degrees to each other.
03-04-2014, 01:44 AM   #6
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Parallax Quote
The problem with ir on a digital camera is that, as with a film camera, you put a filter on the lens that theoretically lets only ir spectrum light pass through; but unlike on a film camera, that light then encounters a filter who's purpose is to stop ir light from reaching the sensor. It's a bit like trying to see through 2 polarizer filters turned 90 degrees to each other.