Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-23-2014, 11:18 AM   #1
Tarag1

KX F-stop will not adjust!!! Rant big time.

Hello all,

I have a pentax KX and I cannot get the F stop to go below 5.6 in Av mode!!! When I go to portrait mode, again no way to adjust the f-stop. What ends up happening is my exposure time is really slow (to let in more light) and my pics are super blurry. I am trying to decide if it's me because I'm a novice or if it's just this camera. When I get a good shot (1 in 90 pics), they are awesome and super high quality. Everything else is just crap. The exposure is wrong and the shot is blurry. Don't even get me started on the auto focus--so slow (I miss shots of my 7 month old because the camera will not fire when I press the button to take a photo) or it focuses on her nose rather than her eyes. I spend hours in post-production trying to clean up these shots rather than tweaking them here and there.

I am just about ready to sell my gear and get a nikon d7100. I really do not know what to do. I got the pentax based on the quality of the sample shots I saw on amazon and dpreview. Just amazing.

Any thoughts on this? Is it me or the camera?

Thanks so much to all who respond, I really appreciate it!!! --Tara

Last edited by Tom S.; 03-23-2014 at 01:06 PM. Reason: Swearing removed.
03-23-2014, 01:08 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Welcome to the forum. Be advised that this is a family friendly place and we do not allow swearing or inferred profanities. Thus, your post has been moderated.
03-23-2014, 01:25 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter

A flash is alarming to babies, Tara, so crank up your ISO. Sounds like you need to study and read the basics of not just your KX, but photography in general.

Last edited by clackers; 03-23-2014 at 04:15 PM.
03-23-2014, 03:17 PM   #4
Site Supporter