Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-31-2014, 01:44 PM   #1
Mucahid Kahraman

Is there control difference between entry-level and a pro dslr?

I'm new to photography and i do not have a DSLR yet, but i'm planning to buy a Pentax K-3 for my first dslr.
Now i'm currently using a bridge camera that is very similar to a dslr. and so i know almost all the things about photography(Shutter speed, aperture, ISO, focal length etc etc...).
and that is why i'm asking...should i start with a pro level dslr or a an enrtry-level(even though i know all the photographic stuff).
I dont really want to start with an entry-level.

08-31-2014, 01:50 PM   #2
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by First Poster Quote
even though i know all the photographic stuff
Nobody knows all the photographic stuff, even the pros continue to learn. But it depends on what you need rather than what we think you need. If you tell us what you're going to be photographing maybe we can help you decide.
08-31-2014, 02:05 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Your new camera will come with a manual. Read it while you are waiting for the battery to charge. If you still have questions, post them here . . .
08-31-2014, 02:11 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

If you mean camera controls, the main difference is often more buttons and less menu diving, plus some features that entry level users might never need.

So if you go here: Pentax Cameras | Pentax K-3 vs. Pentax K-50 vs. Pentax K-500 - Pentax DSLR Comparison - PentaxForums.com You can see that the k-3 has:
14 bit RAW
5 shot exposure bracketing
24 mp
No scene modes
1/8000sec shutter speed
8.3 fps
allows tethering with FLU card
Can use a battery grip
No AA batteries
More AF modes
Top LCD